EJ WATER COOPERATIVE, INC.

MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING

The 35th Annual Meeting of EJ Water Cooperative, Inc. was held in person and as a livestream event on March 14, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. at the Effingham Event Center. President Jason Warfel called the meeting to order followed by the National Anthem sung by Michael Love and the invocation was then given by Jeff Wilson.

At this time, all veterans in attendance were recognized and a small gift was presented to each one. President Warfel review housekeeping items.

President Warfel introduced Secretary Gail Garbe who reported that a total of 60 members were present in person, 13 via Zoom, in addition to 26 proxies, for a total of 99 members, exceeding the bylaws requirement for a quorum.

President Warfel introduced Vince Fisher as Sergeant in Arms for the evening and Aaron Leonard with Taylor Law Offices as Parliamentarian for the meeting.

President Warfel then read the Proof of Mailing Notice for the 35th Annual Meeting.

President Warfel then presided over the reading of the 2023 minutes. He requested a motion to amend the agenda to include a portion for public member comment. Upon a motion by P.B. Finley, seconded by Louis Ochs, the membership voted to amend the agenda. President Warfel requested a motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes. Upon a motion by Ron Zwilling, seconded by Nick Wente, the membership voted to dispense with reading the 2023 annual meeting minutes.

Presentation of Reports

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Jeff Wilson presented the Treasurer's Report for the year ending September 30, 2023.

President's Report

President Warfel then presented his president's report highlight the Strategic Plan that the board recently adopted. He explained the planned had three main objectives, planned growth, develop, measure and define success and also employee retention and succession planning. He quoted Warren Buffett saying "Someone is sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago," and thanked everyone who dreamed, supported, and been a part of the EJ Journey.

CEO Report

Bill Teichmiller began by welcoming everyone to the 35th Annual Meeting. He expressed his gratitude to the members for their faith in the Board of Directors and the Leadership Team. He then recognized the board members and the staff. He then walked the membership through the history of EJ Water

Bill then provided information on the various projects EJ has worked on since last year's meeting. They are:

- Phase 48, new side channel reservoir –This is located west of the Delbert D. Munt Water Treatment Plant. The reservoir is nearly full and will be a great resource in the future.
- Phase 57, which was a system improvement project as well as erecting a new water tower north of Pana and upgrading the Lakewood Booster station is completed.

Bill thanked all the members, Board members and recognized the great partnerships EJ has with Milano & Grunloh, and Taylor Law Offices. He thanked all the participants of today's meeting including Michael Love, Jeff Wilson, Effingham Event Center, & Kirby Foods. He also recognized the relationship EJ has with local banks for taking a risk on EJ including Dieterich Bank, Peoples State Bank, Midland States Bank, Clay County Bank, and the First State Bank of Beecher City. He also recognized EJ's relationships with other municipalities and counties. He thanked his wife for her support and then concluded by stating it is an honor and a privilege to serve all the EJ Water members. Thank you for helping us to succeed.

Nominating Committee Report and Election of Directors

President Warfel presided over the election of directors. In lieu of reading the Nominating Committee minutes, President Warfel requested approval to dispense with the reading of the Nominating Committee meeting minutes. Upon a motion by Tammy Wright, seconded by Jim Perry, the membership unanimously voted to dispense with the reading of the Nominating Committee minutes and approving them.

President Warfel stated the nominations designated by the Committee were District 2, Mike Hall; District 3, Garry Morrison. President Warfel stated that the District 1 seat was vacant due to an invalid petition and the Board would be appointing that seat at the next board meeting. President Warfel then introduced the rest of the Board members, District 1 – Gail Garbe, Diane Aherin and Chris Hartke, District 2 – Jeff Wilson and himself, District 3 – Chuck Smedley and Jimmy Ayers.

Presentation of Awards

Bill Teichmiller and President Warfel presented service awards to the following individuals:

- Chris Hartke, Board Member 20 years
- Martha Miller, retired staff after 20 years
- Dean Swingler, 25 years

Bill then noted that free water for a year will be given to 13 members, and they will be announced tomorrow. Winners of the giveaway will be contacted and announced on both social media and EJ Water's website.

President Warfel requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Upon a motion by Jim Perry, seconded by Raymond Drees, the membership voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 6:18 p.m.

Drawing for Door Prizes

The winners were: Barbara Hume, Robert Hagerstrom, Charles Bishop, Raymond Drees, Robert Anderson, James Perry, Kyle VanDyke, Rick and Sheryl Vonderheide, and Max Tonn.

65" ONN Smart TV	Barbara Hume
55" ONN Smart TV	Robert Hagerstrom
43" ONN Smart TV	Charles Bishop
JBL Charge 5 Bluetooth Speaker	Raymond Drees
JBL Flip 6 Bluetooth Speaker	Robert Anderson
JBL Flip 6 Bluetooth Speaker	James Perry
\$100 Visa Gift Card	Kyle VanDyke
\$100 Visa Gift Card	Rick & Sheryl Vonderheide
\$100 Visa Gift Card	Max Tonn